Taiwan 2012 Nov Day 1 – Airport to Miaoli

Day 1 – Airport – Miaoli Area

桃园机场- 苗栗銅鑼杭菊花节-  勝興車站 – 龍騰斷橋 –  金榜面午餐 (skip) – 南庄老街 – 民宿

The Scoots flight arrived in Taoyuan airport about 540am.  Our driver, Mr Zhu met us at the arrival hall.  So glad that it was a sunny day.  Our first stop was Miaoli.  There was a Tongluo Chrysanthemum flower festival 苗栗銅鑼杭菊花节.  This festival was held in early November.  Too bad, some plots were harvested already.  Anyway, there were other wild flowers too.

Next, we visited the Shengxing train station 勝興車站, Remains of Longteng Bridge (broken bridge) 龍騰斷橋 and Nanzhuang Old Street 南庄老街.

Remains of the Longteng Bridge.  Besides it, it was the new train track.

Nanzhuang Old Street has unique historic style shops and Hakka food inside the alleys which made it quite popular in Taiwan. Guihua Alley has all the delicious food such as osmanthus sticky rice balls, Hakka noodle and snacks. At the end of the old street there is an interesting place called The Washing Pit (Shui Bien Tou or Si Shan Ken) where in the past Nanzhuang women used to do laundry, wash dishes, slaughter chickens or ducks and even talk gossip here.

You can see the below pictures as we did have a good time at Nanzhuang old street.


As we started the trip from 6am plus, it was quite tiring and we ended the tour around 4pm plus and headed to Olive Tree minsu.   It is really a beautiful minsu, just like in a fairy tale.

A glimpse of Olive minsu … Click here to see my review on Olive tree minsu.

If you like to know my Nov 2012 itinerary, click here.  If you like my post, please click on the ‘Like’ button.

To receive updates on my blog, you can like my Fanpage.

61 comments

  1. Grace Wong · · Reply

    Hi, enjoy reading your blog. Interested to book a night at olive tree minsu. Can you kindly advise how can I get to olive tree minsu from Taoyuan airport ? Was mr zhu a private taxi operator? What are the charges like? Can I have his contact details. Thank you very much for yr kind assistance.

    1. Replied to your email.

      1. mikotech2014 · ·

        Hi , It was awesome to read your itinerary . I felt in love with those pictures of Olive Tree minsu.This minsu is now part of my plan to visit for next year April trip ( already booked Air ticket ^^)

        Can i know how much you have paid for Mr Zhu’s transport, Guide charge ?
        Can he understand in English ?
        May i know his contact and email ? Thanks alot .

      2. Surprisingly tday a few questions on Miaoli minsu.
        Replied you.

      3. Hi,

        Thanks for writing up this blog on the trip to Taiwan.
        My friend and I are very interested to visit Olive tree minsu too but we have no idea how to get to the place. Can you provide us Mr Zhu contacts and advice how much he charges?

      4. Replied to your email.

    2. Michelle · · Reply

      Thank you for sharing your trip. enjoyed reading your blog. makes me excited to plan my trip. Can you kindly provide me the contact of Mr Zhu and his charges? can he take a group 10pax?

      1. Replied to your email.

  2. Quintessa · · Reply

    Hi! Would like to know Mr Zhu’s contact details, the charges from Taoyuan Airport to Miaoli. Thanks!

    1. replied to your email.

  3. Can you kindly advise how can I get to olive tree minsu from Taoyuan airport ? Was Mr Zhu a private taxi operator? Do you think if we stay 2 nights in here and then travel surrounding such as info provided here, will it too much or too far away from this place?

    http://miaolitravel.net/mainweb/article.aspx?Lang=2&Sno=02000008

    1. Replied you.

      1. Hi, I am interested in getting the contacts of Mr Zhu, he can bring us around miaoli right? Thanks!

      2. Replied to your email.

  4. Hi! Could you leave me Mr Zhu’s contacts and details, as well as the olive tree minsu details please. Thanks a lot!

  5. Hi there, same as the others, I’d like to find out more about getting from Taoyuan Airport to Olive Tree Minsu and how much were the charges of the rooms as well as Mr Zhu’s services. Wanted to take reference from your itinerary but the wretch.cc link can’t be loaded. Would appreciate if you can share some information with me, am thinking of bringing my parents there in January. Thank you in advance!

    1. Ya sure replied you.

      1. Hi! I’d like to spend my holiday in Taiwan. Would you mind sharing with me the contact details of Mr Zhu?Thank you very much.

      2. Replied to your email.

  6. Hi.Mind sharing with me the contact details of Mr Zhu and what are the charges like? 🙂

    1. Replied you.

  7. Hi, thanks for sharing, may I find out how can we travel from Taipei tao yuan airport to olive tree mingsu? Any convenient public transport? Will also like to find out the charges and contact details of Mr Zhu, there will only be 2 of us travelling will the driver fee be the same? Was planning to travel to taichung after staying at olive tree mingsu, any recommendation on how to travel to Taichung from there?

    1. Replied to your email.

  8. Can you provide me Mr Zhu contact and rates too. Thanks in advance.

    1. Replied to your email.

  9. Hi! May I also get the contact details of Mr Zhu? What were his charges like? Thanks in advance!

    1. Replied to your email.

  10. Hi! May I also get the contact details of Mr. Zhu? What were his charges like? Thanks in advance!

    1. Replied to your email.

    2. Replied to your email

  11. Serena Goh · · Reply

    Hi, I will fly Scoot to Taoyuan airport arriving early morning on May 10th this year. I also plan to tour round Miaoli before checking into Olive tree minus which I have yet to book. Same route as you have travelled. I wish to book a driver to ferry us around. Can you please let me have Mr Zhu’s contact ?. Please also advise how much you pay him for one day. May I also know how much is per night in the Olive tree minsu.

    There are 4 of us (adult) travelling. After Miaoli, we intend to travel down to Taichung.
    Hope you can advise us.

    1. Replied to your email.

  12. Hi,

    I’m taking scoot to taoyuan airport, arriving at 540am and would like to tour around Miaoli too. Please let me know the rates for hiring Mr Zhu (3 travellers).

    Kindly let me know the rates for olive tree minsu too (saw your blogpost and you seemed to recommend it)

    Thanks a lot in advance!

    1. Replied to your email.

  13. Hui Wen · · Reply

    Hi , I am going to Taiwan this April. May I know how to book Olive green minsu and what are the charges for Mr zhu services ? Can I have his contact too ? Is it possible to get there by public transport?
    Thanks in advance !! ^^

    1. Replied to your email.

  14. Hi, so wonderful to have found your blog and like others would like to know how to book olive tree minsu and the rates. Also would like to have Mr Zhu’s contact. Thank you in advance.

    1. Replied to your email.

  15. Angeline · · Reply

    Hihi, thanks for sharing! My friend n I are planning to go miaoli as well. Can you share your driver contacts and also how to book olive tree minsu and rates?

    Thanks a lot!

    1. Replied to your email.

  16. Hi, do you mind provide me Mr Zhu’s contact details, charges and also the itinerary? Thanks.

    1. Replied to your email.

  17. Xavier Tan · · Reply

    hihi, im heading to taiwan in May. May i know the contacts for mr Zhu and his charges? Thanks!

    1. Replied to your email.

  18. Irene chua · · Reply

    Hi , lovely blog on the minsu. Can you share the charges and contact of yr driver to bring us from airport to the minsu. Appreciate yr help!

    Rgds
    Irene

    1. Replied to your email.

  19. Wendy · · Reply

    Hi, thank you for posting about your maoli experience and stay at olive minsu. Im looking for infomation on the olive minsu and saw your blog.
    Can you give me the drivers contact and can let me know how you look the olive minsu?

    Thank you so much!

    1. Replied to your email.

  20. Hi! May I also get the contact details of Mr. Zhu? What were his charges like, from Taoyuan to Olive Tree as well as tour in Miaoli? I am arriving Taipei at noon, think its advisable to head for Olive Tree straight? How long is the journey? Thanks in advance!

  21. hi, pls share Mr Zhu’s contact with me. Thanks!

  22. Susan Ho · · Reply

    Hi, very nice and cosy minus. Can you please provide Mr Zhu, driver’s contact please?

    1. Replied to your email.

  23. Hi, I am planning for family trip to Taiwan in March 2016. 3 adults and 2 kids. Appreciate if you could provide me the details i.e. how to go Olive tree from Taoyuan, Mr. Zhu charges, itinerary suggestion and etc.
    Thank you

    1. Replied to your email.

  24. Hi, do you have the Mr Zhu contact email?

    Thank you 🙂

    1. Replied to your email.

  25. Hi,

    I’m travelling to Taiwan in April for about 9days with my mom & sister. Would like to go to Miaoli, Taichung and Taipei. Since I’m travelling with my mom (65yrs Old), would like to have a free and relaxing trip as my mom can’t walk for long period of time. Mainly for food and sight seeing. Do you have any recommendation on good places to visit and also cheap minsu? Do you mind provide me Mr Zhu’s contact details, charges and also the minsu and rates?

    1. Replied to your email.

  26. Hi,

    I would like to find out how can I book rooms at Olive Tree Minsu and how to get there from the airport?

    Thank you!

    1. Replied to your email.

Leave a Reply

